My Mental Health Playlist

Do you have a mental health playlist? A mental health playlist should consist of a variety of your favorite songs that you go to that help you deal with what you’re going through in life, like anxiety, depression, OCD, etc. My playlist includes songs that have not only helped me get through hard times but they can also be happy songs that help cheer me up when I am feeling scared or feeling down. My playlist is focused on my anxiety and depression. My anxiety and depression are the mental health problems that I deal with on an everyday basis. Here is a look at my top 5 songs that are on my mental health playlist. Please enjoy and try not to cry.

1. Cry Pretty- Carrie Underwood

I have loved Carrie Underwood since American Idol. I think she is a great singer. However, I am not a fan of country music which is what she is known for. This song speaks to me because it’s not just about the accident she had before writing this song. She had fallen down some steps and ended up getting up to 40 to 50 stitches on her face. She hid for a while but explained to her fans, “”The title refers to when emotions take over and you just can’t hold them back.” She added in a letter to fans on her blog, “It really speaks to a lot of things that have happened in the past year.” I think this can relate to so many people that struggle with mental health just like myself. Carrie shows that even though she hid from others after her accident she came through it in the end. In the same way, people who struggle with mental health can overcome their problems too and not hide.

2. Sober-Kelly Clarkson

From what I’ve read, everyone interprets this particular song differently. The main thing I think of when I listen to this song? Recovery. This song makes me feel empowered and gives me hope. It’s something I belt out in the car while driving to and from my therapy appointments. Because I grew up with anxiety and depression, whenever I listen to this song it still makes me think of how far I’ve come with my mental health. I feel like I have recovered and have come a long way from when I first started battling anxiety and depression.

3. You Will Be Found- Broadway Musical “Dear Evan Hansen

When I first listened to this song, it really helped me with my depression because I was feeling hopeless and alone. This song is about people around the world feeling touched by Evan’s speech and they fawn over the words he has spoken. This song displays the theme of empathy because Evan’s memories of Connor (another character) have brought together so many people who felt lost and now have a voice and can be heard. This song supports all different types of mental health awareness and really helps, even when you’re in the darkest moments. Some of my favorite lyrics from this song that spoke out to me are:

“Well, let that lonely feeling wash away
Maybe there’s a reason to believe you’ll be okay
‘Cause when you don’t feel strong enough to stand
You can reach, reach out your hand
And oh, someone will come running
And I know, they’ll take you home

Even when the dark comes crashing through
When you need a friend to carry you
And when you’re broken on the ground
You will be found”

4. You Are The Reason-Calum Scott

When I first listened to this song, I thought it was a broken love song, but I interpreted it differently, meaning that it could be about that special person or people in your life. This songs says that “You Are The Reason” I have not given up and would do anything to fix myself for you. I think of this as a healing song, knowing that it’s okay to have mental health problems but that someone will always be with you to help you heal. This song reminds me that I will always have someone to help me “climb every mountain” and obstacle I face in life, to heal from my anxiety and depression. This song shows that no matter what, you always have someone in your life to remind you not to give up and keep fighting. This song just touches my heart in a special place especially when I have those hard days of fighting my depression and anxiety.

5. Just Be Held- Casting Crowns

This band is a Christian band that is very popular if you like to listen to Christian music. According to the artists, this song, “Was based on a family who lost their little girl to cancer. I saw what worship really looks like in going through that storm with that family.” Even though people might have a bad day, God is still good. It might be easier said than done. The artists state, “That’s what I saw and what I learned in walking with that family through that storm”. This song is very touching for people who are similar to me who struggle with mental health on a daily basis. It relates to a bible verse that also does a great job of explaining how we all feel when we are in a difficult place, while explaining the challenges we face on a good and bad day. This song gives me hope that I should never give up. If I fall down, I need to be strong and stand right back up and try again.

Philippians 4:6 (VOICE): “Don’t be anxious about things; instead, pray. Pray about everything. He longs to hear your requests, so talk to God about your needs and be thankful for what has come.”

What songs would be on your mental health playlist? I have shared my ideas, and would love to hear yours. Please let me know in the comments section what songs you would put on your mental health playlist.

Leave a comment