“Oh, the Places You’ll Go”

“Let us remember: One book, One pen, one child, and one teacher can change the world.” -Malala Yousafzai

I remember when I was younger I used to absolutely love going school supply shopping. It was never the fact that school was starting, it was the fact that I got to look forward every year to getting new school supplies. I still love it, even as a future educator and adult. You  can take me to a school supply store like Staples, Michael’s, or even Home Depot and I could just be in there for hours. 

How I feel as a future educator and adult going school supply shopping!

I love looking at pens, Flair Pens, mechanical pencils, and don’t even get me started on planners! Have you ever gone shopping and found your favorite pen, and then one day you lose it because you have used it so much? No? Well I have and it’s extremely frustrating and makes me feel like I lose my mind sometimes because I know I just saw it.

Some things that teachers or future educators love are the certain obsessions we have with school supplies. Today, I am going to inform you not on just my favorite pen but also on some of my favorite school supplies and the things I love when it comes to going back to school shopping. Now, I know some of you are probably thinking what the hell is wrong with you for being obsessed with school supplies and looking forward to going school supply shopping? Well, it’s a teacher thing, you wouldn’t understand.

How most teachers react when its time to go school supply shopping

Flair pens and teachers go together like peanut butter and jelly! Planners and lesson plans take on a whole new life when you can color-coordinate with a Flair pen or 12! P.S. I recommend hiding these bad boys away in a secret lock box that no one but you has the code to because they are just THAT special! Now as a future educator, I have heard how amazing laminators are and how much time they have saved other teachers. I have heard countless stories about how it can save teachers time and money to reuse supplies and worksheets that have been created. I have also heard stories about how students are not able to tear the worksheet apart because it was laminated. Now, had me at Laminators! When I become a teacher, I will understand the joy and love of lamination.

The beautiful flair pens!

 I think my favorite part about the whole school supply shopping experience would be finding my favorite pens that have the smooth bold ink. It’s like putting soft butter on bread. It is such a satisfying feeling. Sometimes I know I want to buy planners when I know in my head that I have an old one I can still use but I really want a new one just so I can write in it with my new favorite pen and Flair pens I just bought. So, I decide to get it anyway even if I regret it later. The expense says otherwise but the satisfaction is definitely worth it if you ask any future educator or teacher. 

“Oh, the Places You’ll Go” just to find your favorite school supplies. My favorite place is Staples. They always have every type of pen I need and I can always find my favorite pen there too.

And maybe a planner.

Leave a comment